Thoughts and dreams of a symphony orchestra began when string players were accompanying the Austin Oratorio Society in productions of “Messiah” and “Elijah” in 1946. During the next eleven years, a group of musicians would occasionally get together to play for fun, perhaps putting on small concerts in the high school orchestra room. After one of these concerts, violist John Madura asked “Why can’t we have our own symphony orchestra?” And so it began. Incorporation papers were filed on October 17, 1957 and a twenty-one member board was chosen to oversee the organization. Paul Heltne, music coordinator of the Austin High School, was appointed symphony conductor with John Madura as its first manager.

On November 25, 1957, Mr Heltne gave the downbeat to “Fledermaus Overture”. And thus began the Austin Symphony Orchestra. Mr Heltne’s strong leadership caused the symphony to grow and mature during his tenure, which lasted until his retirement in 1972. Selection of a new conductor followed, while guest conductors Donaldson Lawhead and Richard Larson each took their turn directing concerts, with Larson chosen to succeed Mr Heltne. Under his direction the symphony expanded the scope of works performed to include opera, ballet and great choral works, as well as to serve as the accompanying group for internationally famous artists.

In 1982, following the 25th anniversary of the symphony, Mr. Larson moved to a new position in Colorado, and David Jordhal began a six year tenure as symphony conductor. His expertise as a violinist was instrumental in improving the tone quality of the orchestra strings, and his concerts were described as “assured and skilled”. Resigning to pursue other interests, Philip Burkhart became the fourth conductor. He continued to lead the orchestra in exciting rehearsals and great choral and symphonic works, introducing a unique chorus of Elementary School Students in 1992.

In 1994 Mr. Burkhart resigned to devote more time to his regular job as high school orchestra director. The search began for a replacement, which was found in Stephen Ramsey of Minneapolis. Under his guidance, the orchestra has striven for artistic excellence in every composition it performs, and has also reinstated the Monday morning Young People’s Concerts for students in grades 4 – 6.


The Austin Symphony Orchestra is searching for musicians to join the orchestra. Auditions are scheduled on an individual basis and will be held late August or early September. Rehearsals take place Monday evenings from 7:00-9:30pm. Musicians are paid for rehearsals and concerts. We are currently auditioning:


All Strings (section)

Substitute Musicians (all)

Click Here To View Audition Materials

Want to schedule an audition? Send us a message on our contact page.


Stephen J Ramsey


Stephen J. Ramsey is in his 36th season as the founding music director/conductor of the Dakota Valley Symphony. He conducts the Symphony, the Symphony Chorus, and the Summer Pops Orchestra and Chorale. A well-known conductor in the Twin Cities area, Maestro Ramsey has also been music director and conductor of the Austin Symphony Orchestra (Austin, MN) for 31years, and has lead the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra for 6 years. He was the music director/Conductor of the Health Sciences Orchestra of the University of Minnesota for 13 years.

Ramsey holds a master of music degree in orchestral conducting from the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music. He has studied with Glenn Block, Lee Humphries, Leonard Slatkin, William McGlaughlin, Max Rudolph, Maurice Jones, Samuel Jones, Harold Farberman, Kirk Muspratt, Eph Ehly, and James Sample.

A well-known conductor in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, Ramsey has led performances at many area colleges, concert halls and churches. He has served as music director and conductor for the Minneapolis Jewish Community Center's Chamber Orchestra, mixed and women's choruses and their Genesis Theater Company, Chimera Theater, Lakeshore Players, Anoka-Ramsey Community College Theater, and Applause Community Theater. He has also been the director of ensembles for Hamline University and the Conducting Associate of the St. Paul Civic Symphony.

As an active guest conductor Ramsey has led the Bloomington Symphony, Minnesota Youth Symphonies, St. Paul Jewish Community Center Orchestra, Kenwood Chamber Orchestra, Linden Hills Chamber Orchestra, Grand Forks Symphony and the Central Chamber Orchestra.

The Orchestra

Violin I

  • Susan Radloff**
  • Jenny Kittleson
  • Victoria Smith
  • Brandon Lawhead
  • Joe Anderson
  • Anne Judisch
  • Gerry Casper
  • Emma Andersen

Violin II

  • Kim Souhrada*
  • Rebecca Crissinger
  • Laura Larson
  • Jane Hanson
  • Bethanie Huston
  • Heidi Pryor
  • Jesse Krusemark
  • Anna Reese
  • Emily Beaver
  • Veronica Petersen


  • Jacob Crosby*
  • Deb Cooper
  • Ellen Gerber
  • Mel Miland
  • Dennis Root
  • Brenna Gerhart
  • Aaron Fennell
  • Beth Becker


  • Haley Rafferty*
  • Tedd Lund
  • Tim Rietz
  • Diane Dammen
  • Shepard Goossen
  • Sue Franklin
  • Karin Kimble


  • Brenda Radloff*
  • Paul LePage


  • Gayle Heimer*
  • Aimee Chalmers


  • Gary Melbostad


  • Thom Hiniker*
  • Pat Hulet

English Horn

  • Allen Bishop


  • Leah Motl*
  • Mike Hanson

Bass Clarinet

  • Michelle Dina


  • Briana O'Connell*
  • Gayle Brownlow

French Horn

  • Jenny Steele*
  • Amalie Niethammer
  • Laura Wight
  • Nick White


  • Jacob Burkhart*
  • Trevor Crawford
  • Beckett Shuholm


  • Mike Postma*
  • Myra Lee
  • David Kassler


  • Mark Woeste


  • Phil Burkhart


  • Kelly Bahl*
  • Chris Paulson
  • Black Zimmerli
  • Malachi Oman


  • Rachel Christensen


  • Katherine Shapinsky

*indicates Principal